Spring Breakers – first trailer

Here is the new restricted trailer for Harmony Korine’s (director of Gummo and Trash Humpers) latest film, Spring Breakers:

I don’t know what it is – I really like the look of this, but I don’t fully trust that it is going to be as great as it seems. I’m loving the style of it, the cinematography and the soundtrack (Skrillex always draws me in), and I think it certainly seems very interesting/insane (I’ll make a judgement about the whole scantily clad girls issue when I do see the film. It’s not like they could go around covering up on holiday so I totes get it ladies).

But I’m suspicious of the HUGE comparison to Nicolas Winding Refn’s film Drive in the trailer: Day-Glo, neon style. The same pink font for the words. They’ve even made a point that Cliff Martinez is on the soundtrack. So I keep getting the feeling that someone is trying to trick me into seeing this…

But then again, when am I NOT going to watch something with James Franco in it? Especially when he’s playing a psycho guy called Alien who has cornrows and gold teeth. Actually Harmony Korine: SOLD.

~ by square-eyed-geek on January 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
