HAMMER OF DESTRUCTION!!!

As I’ve mentioned plenty of times before: I’m a geek. A MASSIVE GEEK. Mostly with regards to comics and comic book films. And let me tell you now: I literally cannot WAIT for when the Avengers comes out. In fact I might not be physically able to – 2012? COME ON!!! And another thing: I’m pretty sure that it’s going to be one of the films that I’m going to see the most times at the pics (the current record is the Lord of The Rings films: 3 times for each one – although I’m sure that I went to see Pirates of the Caribbean a whopping 5 times, but can’t completely remember).

So as you can see: geek central. Which is why I was quite surprised when I didn’t actually want to see Thor. From the first trailer I wasn’t convinced AT ALL – especially by Chris Hemsworth’s accent. And I don’t think I’ve forgiven director Kenneth Branagh for Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

But anyway I gave it a go. And, ok – it’s not Iron Man standards. But it’s a fun film with excellent effects, great gags and pretty brilliantly acted – mostly by Tom Hiddleston as Thor’s brother Loki (not sure where this guy has suddenly come from). And yes, Chris Hemsworth is actually good as Thor – and the accent is convincing when you hear it on the whole. Anthony Hopkins is good – obvs coz it’s Hopkins. But he’s just a bit tooooo shouty. Calm down man. Natalie Portman is brill as well – but when is she not? One of the big surprises though is Kat Dennings: v, v, funny (and where did she come from too?). And whats that as well? – TWO good, non-stereotypical female characters??? WOW.

The story that takes place in the mythical land of Asgard is good – lovely, weird landscapes and all that (just look below – mmm, goldie). But it really only gets truly great when Thor crashes down to earth and he has to deal with our world (cue lots of gags).

Actually I should probably admit something to you: one of the main reasons I wanted to see Thor was coz I’d heard there was a certain cameo in it…If you don’t know already and you don’t want to know, then don’t carry on reading…………

Jeremy Renner (hello again cutie) as Hawkeye/Clint Barton pops up. And that is how much of a geek I am – I loves me some superhero cameos (and maybe as well coz its Renner ya know…). I didn’t even care that he’s only in it for literally 30 seconds…

So yeah, Thor’s a good watch – fun and actiony. You pretty much know what you’re going to get. However I’d like to make a point before I go: JUST STOP ALREADY. WE GET IT. 3D IS GREAT. BUT PLEASE STOP USING IT IN EVERY FILM. It works ok in Asgard, but the bits on earth? Totally pointless and really distracting. Rant over.

~ by square-eyed-geek on May 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
