Campus shampus

It’s just occurred to me that I mentioned at the start of this blog that I would be reviewing both film and TV – but that I haven’t actually written any TV reviews yet. So let’s remedy that…

Campus is a new comedy series on channel 4 that is now 3 episodes in…I have actually been purposely withholding doing any sort of review on it because I couldn’t really judge it on the pilot episode alone – I’d already seen it and it was exactly the same, no tweaks or anything from what I can remember. So I wanted to wait until I had seen a few of the new episodes before I judged it.

And now I’ve seen a couple more episodes, my general thought is: ‘Hmmmm…’ That’s pretty much it. Campus is enjoyable enough, but if you’ve seen Green Wing before (which the makers of Campus did before this – and which is a million miles more funny), then it’s nothing new. You can even match up the similar characters from both programmes: there’s the ditzy nervous woman, the man who thinks he’s God’s gift to women, the geeky nervous guy, the dumb pretty woman.

Most annoyingly of all they’ve tried to completely replicate Sue White from Green Wing, played by the amazing Michelle Gomez. Except in Campus they’ve changed it to a man in the hopes that you won’t notice. This is the head of the campus, Jonty de Wolfe, played by the excellent Andy Nyman. And for this reason it’s almost forgivable because Nyman is brilliantly funny. But when he starts to go a little OTT, and also when the sketches turn into something wonderfully bizarre, the comparisons between this and Green Wing are far too obvious.

And to be honest, with the exception of a few gems, it’s just not really that funny.

And also, lets face it, Campus was never going to beat this:

~ by square-eyed-geek on April 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
